France part 2 – Louvre, Eiffel Tower and more

Originally both my husband and I were more interested in going to D’Orsay then Louvre but unfortunatelly, we had to leave it to another trip. Getting into Louvre was easy with the Paris passes we ordered before out trip and picked up after arriving to Paris.

My biggest thing about Louvre was seeing Mona Lisa, so i suggested we head there first thing, and only then we can pick what we get to see next. You simply cannot really see Louvre in one day and having only half a day we had to limit ourselves severely.

To be honest, Mona Lisa have disappointed me, perhaps due to my high expectations. the reality was depressing:

But as far as everything else goes, Louvre has surpassd my expectations in every way possible and we quickly lost track of time. Below are some highlights:








After walking Champ de Elysee back and forth, we headed over to Arc of Triumph to enjoy the view:




Breathtaking view fully justified a painful ascend.

Later, completely exhausted but happy, we met up with Tanya who found out about our whereabouts from Facebook. I must admit, earlier in the year I was planning on catching up with her but later it completely slipped my mind that she was living in Paris these days. After dinner and drinks (amazing fois gras!) Tanya presented us with unexpected surprise – made us run like the wind to see something exciting. I was not in the mood for running or even for seeing anything at all, all I could think of was a hot shower, cup of tea and a good night sleep. Few minutes later we arrived at a dark corner and I was about to ask what was so important that we could not have walked slowly, and then it happened – invisible in the dark Eiffel Tower suddenly lit up, making me feel like a kid at Christmas:

Aparently it happens at 10 o’clock sharp and many people, even the locals, gather to see it and take pictures.

Thanks Tanya, I will never forget the view:)

Leave a Reply

