Boden Review

Here are my Boden picks:









  1. The #1 – gingham shirt dress I got in 6R even though I am normally size 2 or size 4, but Boden clothes mostly runs small. Size 6R fit me perfectly, the dress is very well made and even though unlined, it did not pose a problem for me. The flared skirt and gingham gives it a 50s flare that I love.


    After wearing this dress out once, I received tons of compliments on it and regretted not getting it also in grassy green. By the time I realized my mistake, the dress was sold out. Luckily today I went back on Boden site and found they brought it back in grassy green in particular. So I immediately placed an order for size 6R.

    #2 is the St. James wool dress I bought for work. Originally I ordered it in size 4R based on measurements listed but, unfortunately, my order was cancelled due to an error in inventory. Luckily I was able to get it in size 6R in black. Fit me perfectly, while 4R might have been too small and hard to get into. The dress is lovely, very flattering, slimming and versatile.

    # 3 wool pencil skirt I also got exclusively for work. Bought one in navy in size 4L and I am glad I did because it falls right below the knee and 4R would have been right above the knee. I find that the most flattering length for me is either right below the knee, or one that hits right in the middle of the knee cap, or mini that hits a couple of inches above the knee.

    In Boden sizes that means I need either L or S length, since R mostly hits right above the knee at its wider part. The 4L in pencil skirt was exactly what I wanted:


    #4 the tweed mini I got in 6S. It is very well made, good quality material, but I felt it did not do anything for me – it was a bit too stiff especially in the back:

    #5 I decided to get when they were sold out of the green gingham dress and was disappointed – the skirt was too long(4L which in case of a pencil skirt was perfect) and not flared as much as the dress. Didn’t do anything for me, so it is going back along with tweed mini:

Leave a Reply

